Cricket Hero elected as Prime Minister of Pakistan

Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Imran Khan has been elected Prime Minister of Pakistan. He will take oath tomorrow in a ceremony held at president house Islamabad. Imran Khan would be the 22nd prime minister of Pakistan.
He received 176 votes as against 96 votes by his only rival Shahbaz Sharif of PML (N) at the voting held at Parliament House in Islamabad to elect Leader of the House in the National Assembly on Friday afternoon.
In a house of 372, the winning candidate was required to obtain at least 172 votes to become the Prime Minister. Members of PTI and its allied parties greeted victory of Imran Khan with thumping of desks when Speaker Asad Qaiser declared the result after completion of voting process through division of house.
PPP members attended the session but abstained from voting.

Related posts